Interview: Talia Jose

©Riproduzione riservata

A cura di Antonia Pesare

Talia is a 7-year-old child who has a passion for arts and is creative by nature. She started expressing her thoughts through her drawings at a very young age. Her parents have been very supportive of her interest in arts, while being mindful that it remains a creative, fun and joyful activity for her.

Her mother showed Talia how to use brushes and paints and pens. Sometimes when she is drawing or painting she talk to her mom about what she plan to do and discuss how to do it.

Talia was chosen as one of the top ten child artists for grade 1 across 300+ schools in the state of Karnataka (India) last year. She has also taken part in an exhibition of children’s artwork where she sold 4 out of the 5 paintings she exhibited. She is now planning on selling the artworks she has done during the lockdown and donate the proceeds to an orphanage in Bangalore (India) she and her parents have been supporting. She like to draw about everything in the world. Two things she like to include in her drawings: hearts and rainbows.

1) Hi Talia, remember what was your first drawing?

No, I don’t remember my first drawing. My mother tells me that I used to really enjoy my time with crayons, sketch pens and paints when I was young.  I started making drawings with meaning when I was about 3 years old.  

2) You have a passion for doodle art that you make successfully. How long have you been drawing?

I only learnt recently from my mother that doodling is a form of art. As I was not going to school, I had more time to explore different kinds of art, and I started doodling more and I like it a lot.

3) What do your schoolmates and your teacher say about your works?

I carry a sketchbook with me to school to draw whenever I have some free time. My teachers and friends always appreciate what I do.

4) Which painter of the past do you like?

I read about Artemisia Gentileschi and Frida Kahlo in the book ‘Goodnight stories for Rebel Girls’ and I know they both were famous painters. I want to be like them and become a famous artist.

5) What do you think about while drawing?

Do you alienate yourself from everything or do you chat or listen to music? I usually have an idea in my head when I start drawing. I do not like to chat while drawing, but I don’t mind listening to music. Sometimes I like being around my mother and sometimes I like being alone while drawing.

6) I was struck by your doodle: “What life would be if there was no pandemic”. Do you want to tell us about it? (short description).

I just started doodling to tell a story about life if there was no corona virus. I have included a lot of things I love- lots of rainbows and hearts, fruits (watermelon, oranges, strawberries) which I love to eat, lots of happy faces and figures of children, flowers, leaves and trees, animals (birds, fishes, penguins), basketball, skating etc. I was just expressing my thoughts. Once I start a drawing, I have to complete it even if it takes days to finish. I never thought the drawing would get so much attention and be appreciated by many.

7) What are your hobbies?

I love music and I spent time almost every day singing and practicing the piano. I also like writing songs and small verses. I love sports. I play tennis and basketball, and I really enjoy skating, swimming and running. I also like building things- using lego and other things which I collect from my walks and trips.

8) When you grow up would you like to be an artist or would you like to do something else?

When I grow up I want to be an artist and it has been my dream since I was four. I also enjoy singing and writing my own songs as a hobby. I like learning about the galaxy and it is my dream to travel to space one day.

Lascia un commento